Day Two : Food from around the world

3 Mar

Flipping through my vegan leaflets yesterday I found a key nugget of advice seemed to be to keep trying foods and recipes from all over the world, in order to ensure a varied and enjoyable diet. They also offered a link to a very valuable little resource from the International Vegan Union, a website which boasts nearly 2000 vegan recipes contributed from people all over the world, categorised by country.

So today I opted to try some other cultures, eating traditionally Indian food for lunch – pitta bread stuffed with hummus, mixed salad and falafel. And for dinner I decided to take the bull by the horns and cook a dish I’d never cooked before. Rice and peas, traditionally a Jamaican dish, although I don’t know why it has this name because there are no peas involved at all! It’s actually made with kidney beans, making a great meal or side dish for vegans as beans provide a valuable source of protein. The meal took around 40 minutes altogether to cook and I ate it with a spicy tofu fillet (my first time for tofu too!) The combination, although it didn’t look too appetising was surprisingly tasty! Check out the pictures and recipe below. The only problem is now I am longing for a little chocolate dessert – which, of course, can’t be done.

My second challenge of the day was my first trip to the pub as a vegan. I had done research prior to this and knew that not all wines or beers are vegan friendly. It was quite a surprise to me, but it turns out that many wines that I am used to drinking have been filtered through animal products. Not a particularly nice thought really. So, instead of my usual glass of rose I opted for a sweet amaretto and diet Pepsi instead. I’m pretty sure both products are vegan – some people may say that Pepsi is still unethical because of the large corporation it comes from, but I say I needed a drink!

Ingredients

1 medium sized can red kidney beans
1 can coconut milk
2 cups of long grain brown rice
vegetable Stock
1 small white onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 spring onion, chopped
Seasoning – thyme, salt and pepper

Drain the kidney beans. You should drain the water from beans into a measuring jug, to which add the coconut milk and stock. Place this liquid mixture in pan and add the rice, garlic, onions and other seasoning and bring to boil. Add the beans. Simmer for about 20-30 mins until cooked.

Leave a Reply

