Vegan Week : Days 3 and 4

4 Mar

It’s Thursday night, and I’m now over half way through my week as a vegan. And I must say I’ve actually been surprised at how easy it has been so far. All the overbearing cravings for cheese and chocolate that I anticipated have been minimal and I definately haven’t gone hungry at all – perhaps I underestimated my will power; or perhaps being a vegan really isn’t as drastic a change as people may first think.

One thing that the week has helped me with is my cooking skills. I’ve already cooked more meals from scratch this week than I have any other week in my life! Exotic dishes, curries and vegetable-based dishes; this week I’ve cooked them all. As cooking and nutrition is something I’m interested in anyway, this has definitely been the best aspect of the experience.

Last nice for dinner I served up stuffed peppers – a meal that quick and easy to do but very tasty if you do it right, and it has the added bonus of looking pretty too! See my pictures below. 🙂

Tonight was my first attempt at cooking a curry from scratch – a red lentil curry to be exact – and it was deemed by all who tried it as a success. So successful that I have decided to share the recipe here… 

Ingredients

  • 2 cups red lentils
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons curry paste
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon ginger root, minced
  • 1 (14.25 ounce) can tomato puree (I used a tin of chopped tomatoes in juice which worked fine too)

Wash the lentils in cold water until the water runs clear, put the lentils in a pot with water to cover and simmer covered until lentils tender (add more water if necessary). While the lentils are cooking fry the onions in a saucepan with a little vegetable oil

While the onions are cooking, combine the curry paste, curry powder, turmeric, cumin, chili powder, salt, sugar, garlic, and ginger in a mixing bowl. Mix well. When the onions are cooked, add the curry mixture to the onions and cook over a high heat stirring constantly for 1 to 2 minutes. Next, stir in the tomato and reduce heat. Leave it to simmer until the lentils are ready, then drain the lentils and mix them into the curry mix. Serve with long grain or basmati rice.

Leave a Reply

